Energy Healing: The Chakras

For those of you whom have followed along on my yoga journey might know that I recently started a Youtube Channel, it is named Yoga by Penny, or you can click the little Youtube button in the corner ↗

I wanted to create a yoga series where we go through all the chakras to optimize our energy system. I teach chakra yoga classes at Karma Yoga Studio in Guelph, and I love it – so I wanted to continue to share and spread the healing power. This way you can work on them yourself through yoga in your very own home (I think we need this A LOT right now).
So why do we want work on our chakras? Because they support our physical, mental, emotional health, and overall well-being.

First I want to explain what the hell a chakra is, because right about now many of you are raising an eyebrow.

There are a bunch of chakras throughout or energy field, but we are going to focus on the main seven chakras:

These chakras are connected by a network of energy channels throughout the body called Nadis – which means movement or flow.
There are three main Nadis – Ida Nadi, Pingala Nadi, and Sushumna Nadi.
The Ida Nadi channel is associated with the left side; feminine, lunar, cool qualities and has the colour white.
The Pingala Nadi channel is associated with the right side; masculine, solar, warm qualities and has the colour red.
The Sushumna Nadi runs straight up the spine.
These Nadis cross over one another at certain points along the spine, creating knots known as Chakras. 
The chakras are located from the base of the spine, along the spine; all the way to the top of the head.
A chakra means wheel, a spinning wheel of light, and it either makes the energy through the body flowing freely (open or balanced chakras), or the energy might be stagnant or stuck (closed or unbalanced chakras). They are said to be spinning differently depending on if you are male or female, and that indicates which way to massage the chakras as well.
Unbalanced chakras can be chakras that are overactive or under-active, and when they are unbalanced it can cause discomfort in every possible way to our mind, body, os spirit.

Each chakra has a purpose and is linked to specific body parts, organs within the body, emotional and mental attitudes, physical health or disease, and elements. They are traditionally associated with a specific color, but it can also be whatever color you perceive in that part of your body.

First chakra: The Root Chakra – Muladhara
Second chakra: The Sacral Chakra – Svadhishthana
Third chakra: The Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipura
Fourth chakra: The Heart Chakra – Anahata
Fifth chakra: The Throat Chakra – Vishuddha
Sixth chakra: The Third Eye Chakra – Ajna
Seventh Chakra: The Crown Chakra – Sahasrara

We’ll be going deeper into each chakra as we move along, I’ve already posted two chakra yoga classes on my Youtube channel – so you can check them out there to start with!
Have fun with it, and let me know how you go.

With love and kindness,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *